Last modified: 2022-06-27

Managing Roles

The Roles page enables you to create and manage the roles associated with your account. This functionality is available to Admins (or to any role that has the appropriate permissions).

A Role consists of a set of permissions. Once a role created, it can be assigned to individual users, enabling them to access the OneSpan Sign functionality they need.

If you are looking to migrate the roles and permissions that you defined in your Sandbox account to your Production account, OneSpan Sign has created a small Java application that can do this for you. For more information, see our Roles and Permissions Copy Tool.

To access the Roles page:

  • Click Admin > Roles.

The Roles page displays the following columns:

  • Role Name: Displays a list of all roles associated with the account.
  • Description: Provides a brief description of each role.
  • Status: Displays the role's current account status, such as Enabled or Disabled. A role that is disabled cannot be added to a user.

You can perform the following actions from the Roles page. Note that some of these actions can be performed only on the roles that you added to the account.

OneSpan Sign supports three predefined roles that cannot be modified or deleted (Manager, Admin, Sender). It also supports an unlimited number of customized roles. Note that the Admin of a Master Account can create customized roles at that top account level, and have them automatically propagated to all that account’s sub-accounts — such “global roles” spare Admins from having to create the same role repeatedly at multiple levels. On the Roles page: (1) a globe icon appears next to a global role ; (2) a globe icon with a superimposed lock appears next to a predefined role; (3) no icon appears next to a customized local role.

Searching for a Role

To search for a role associated with your account:

  • Type the name of the role in the Search box, and click Return. As you type, the list of roles will filter to those that match your search term.

Adding a Role to Your Account

To add a new role to your account:

  1. Click Add, and type the role's name and description. You can also specify if the role is to be immediately enabled.
  2. Click Add Permissions. A list of all possible permissions appears.
  1. Select all the permissions you wish to add to the role. For more about permissions, see Permission Descriptions.
  2. Click Add.
  3. Click Save.

Permission Descriptions

The following permissions can be applied to roles to provide access to various features within your account.

To see which permissions have been assigned to a particular role, select the role. A Role Details pane will provide additional information about the role, including a list of all its permissions.

Not All Features Apply

  • The permissions visible to you reflect the features enabled for your account. Some of the permissions listed here may not be available for you to select.
  • No user can change their own permissions.

Available Permissions

Permission Description
Sender Admin Permissions
Event Notification This permission enables a Sender to view their account's Event Notifications interface. Integrators can use this interface to request an automatic notification of events that concern the account.
Custom Fields This permission enables a Sender to create and manage Custom Fields.
Subscription account billing details

This permission enables a Sender to view the Subscription page, which contains billing details for their account.

Reports This permission enables a Sender to view the Reports menu in the Navigation Bar, and thus access reports about their account.
User Management This permission enables a Sender to manage the users associated with their account.
Roles This permission enables a Sender to manage the roles associated with their account.
Security Settings

This permission enables a Sender to specify a password policy for their account.

Customization

This permission enables a Sender to re-brand the Signer Experience in several powerful ways.

Notary

This permission enables a Sender to enable the e-Notary feature on a notary’s account. This feature enables the notary to e-sign and notarize documents in a “notarized transaction”.

API Access This permission enables a Sender to allow customers to communicate with OneSpan Sign from within their own system via REST API calls.
Data Management

This permission enables a Sender to specify how long transactions in various states will be retained on a OneSpan Sign server.

Sub Account Management This permission enables a Sender to create and customize sub-accounts on their account.
Group Permissions
Group Signing Management (Sender UI Email Groups) This permission enables an Account Owner or Manager to manage Groups on their account.
Template and Layout Permissions
Share Template This permission enables a Sender to make their templates available to other users on their account.
Share Layout This permission enables a Sender to make their layouts available to other users on their account.
Transaction Permissions
Transaction This permission enables a signer to create, view and edit transactions.
Change Signer Option

This permission enables a signer to delegate their signing responsibilities to another person.

Transaction visibility for delegates

This permission determines which transactions a delegate can see on the account they have been delegated to manage. If a delegate has this permission, they can view all the transactions on that account. If a delegate does not have this permission, they can view only those transactions that during the period of their delegation are in draft, in progress, or completed. Note: Enterprise Administration cannot enable or disable any user's ability to delegate.

In Person Signing This permission enables a Sender to use the In-Person signing feature on a transaction.

Enabling, Disabling, or Deleting a Role

To temporarily disable a role that has been added to an account, check the box beside it, and then click Disable.

To re-enable a disabled role, check the box beside it, and then click Enable.

To permanently delete a role from an account, check the box beside it, and then click Delete.

Was this information helpful?
X