Data Retention

Certain users can specify how long transactions in any of the following states will be retained on OneSpan Sign's servers: Draft, Opted out, Declined, Expired, Completed, Archived.

By default, the retention period for all existing customers is unlimited.

All data-retention settings for an account can be changed by its Owner (if the Roles and Permissions feature is off), or by its Admin and Manager (if the Roles and Permissions feature is on). In addition, a particular Data Management permission can be assigned to an account user.

Managing Data Retention

Prerequisites

  • Data management self-service has been enabled for you. This is true by default, but you can disable the service by contacting our Support Team.

When this feature is enabled, you can specify data-retention rules not only via this procedure, but also via the REST API.

Action

To manage the retention of data on your account:

  1. From the top menu in the New User Experience, click Admin > Data Retention. A Data Retention dialog box appears.
  2. If you want to reset all intervals on this page to their default values, click RESET TO DEFAULT near the bottom of the page.
  3. To specify how long transactions will be stored after their creation date, click the control for Total Transaction Lifetime, and change its associated number of days. For example, if this lifetime is 30 days, a transaction created on January 1 will be deleted on January 31.

  4. To specify how long archived transactions will be stored, click the control for Archived, and change its associated number of days. No other setting on this page affects archived transactions.
  5. To specify how long incomplete transactions will be stored, click the control for Incomplete Transactions, and change its associated number of days. Note that incomplete transactions are in one of the following states: Draft, Declined, Expired.
  6. Transactions in the state Sent cannot be assigned a retention period, but you can optionally assign them a default expiry period and a maximum expiry period. In the second part of the dialog box is information about transactions in this state. If you want to change the expiry time for those transactions, open in a separate window the link Sent Transactions Expiry Time.

  7. To specify how long completed transactions will be stored, click the control for Completed Transactions, and change its associated number of days.
  8. If you want to specify smaller retention values for incomplete transactions in particular states (Draft, Declined or Expired). click the control for the relevant state, and change its associated number of days. These controls are in the section Advanced Settings for Incomplete Transactions.
  9. Click SUBMIT. The dialog box closes. Data for transactions in the various states will be purged once they have been in that state for the interval specified in this procedure.

     

    • IMPORTANT: Customers with the Business Plan can change all data-retention settings. Customers with the Professional Plan can change all the settings except Total Transaction Lifetime and Incomplete Transactions.

    • If inconsistent deletion dates are specified, the date that occurs first takes effect. For example, suppose the Total Transaction Llifetime is set to 100 days, while Draft is set to 20 days. If a transaction is in the Draft state for 20 days, it will be deleted even though the Total Transaction Lifetime is 100 days.
    • Transactions will be purged overnight once they reach their specified date. Example 1: Suppose that Draft transactions have been configured to be purged after 20 days. A transaction which enters that state on 1 July will be deleted overnight on 21 July (assuming it's still in the Draft state). Example 2: Suppose that on 20 August Draft transactions are configured to be purged after 20 days. Any transaction created before 1 August that is still in the Draft state will be purged overnight on 21 August.
    • When transactions are about to be purged, the New User Experience indicates that fact at least 7 days before the purge.
    • Transactions in any state can be trashed. Putting a transaction in the trash doesn’t change its state — it’s just an additional attribute. The above retention period is calculated from when a transaction entered a state, not from when it was trashed. For example, suppose a transaction entered the state Opted Out on 1 April, but was trashed on 1 May. If Opted Out transactions' retention period is changed to N days, the transaction will be purged after (1 April + N days), not after (1 May + N days).

Video Tutorial: How to Set a Data Retention Schedule for Transactions Stored on OneSpan Sign

Was this information helpful?
X